This is literally the best news you’re gonna hear all day. ComedyPRO just revealed that Amy Poehler will be named (crowned?) Comedy Person of the Year at the 2013 Just For Laughs Awards Show on July 26 in Montreal, hosted by Roastmaster General Jeff Ross. It’s not quite “first female President of the United States,” but Leslie Knope would still be proud.
Additional funny people to be honoured at the event include filmmaker Edgar Wright, who will receive the Comedy Director of the Year Award, and Arrested Development creator Mitch Hurwitz, who will be given the Comedy Writer of the Year Award. Plus, Kroll Show creator/star Nick Kroll will be deemed the 2013 Breakout Comedy Star of the Year—which proves it helps to have a great PubLIZity team backing you up.
For this year’s full lineup of Just For Laughs performers and shows, click here.